MINUTES OF THE LIBRARY BOARD Oshkosh Public Library

July 30, 2020

The Regular Meeting of the Oshkosh Public Library Board of Trustees was held on July 30, 2020 via a Zoom meeting. The meeting was called to order at 4:01 p.m. by Board President, Christine Melms-Simon.

Present were: Bill Bracken, Vickie Cartwright, Larry Lautenschlager, Christine Melms-Simon, Lindsey Mugerauer, Baron Perlman, David Romond, David Rucker, Amber Shemanski and Amy Sitter. Absent were: **none**. Others present were: Jeff Gilderson-Duwe, Oshkosh Public Library Director; Lisa Voss, Assistant Director for Library Development; Ruth Percey, Assistant Director for Public Services; Julie Schmude, Business Manager; Marcy Cannon, Administrative Specialist and Tracie Schlaak, Administrative Specialist.

Public Comments - There were none

Consent Agenda Items:

- Meeting Minutes of the June 25, 2020 regular meeting of the library board.
- Vouchers Payable \$266,170.67

Motion to approve the Consent Agenda with changes to the minutes reflecting Amber Shemanski's name being entered incorrectly

Motion: Sitter; Second: Cartwright; Vote: Unanimous.

New Business:

• Election of library board officers for 2020-2021 - Library bylaws call for election of officers (President and Vice-President) at the July regular meeting each year. No slate is prepared as Nominating Committee was not appointed in time.

Motion to retain Christine Melms-Simon as board President Motion: Cartwright; Second: Bracken; Vote: Unanimous – she accepted the position

Motion to nominate Dave Romond as board Vice-President Motion: Sitter; Second: Rucker; Vote: Unanimous – he accepted the position

- Appointments to board officer Nominating Committee for 2020-2021 Agenda item was moot due to previous action.
- Appointments to board Finance Committee for 2020-2021 -

Motion to table until Jeff Gilderson-Duwe has a chance to look at the by-laws to see if this committee is needed. Motion: Cartwright; Second: Rucker; Vote: Unanimous

• Appointments to board Director Compensation Committee for 2020-2021 -

Motion to retain the same board members that currently reside on the committee consisting of: David Rucker, Dave Romond and Christine Melms-Simon. Motion: Sitter; Second: Romond; Vote: Unanimous

• Proposal to Implement Phase One Re-Opening Plan and to Revise the Gating Criteria for Later Re-Opening Phases – This was split into 2 motions:

Motion #1: to amend Phase One re-opening plan to open the library on August 3, 2020 by striking the gating criteria for Phase I and adding an amendment to require members of the public to wear face masks while in the library.

Motion: Bracken; Second: Perlman; Vote: Unanimous

Motion #2: to approve revised gating criteria using **regional** activity from Winnebago County and the Fox Valley in order to move to Phase II.

Motion: Sitter; Second: Bracken; Vote: Unanimous

• Proposal to Revise Fines and Fees Policy to Eliminate Fines for Overdue Library Materials and to Eliminate Fees for Collection Agency Referrals

Motion to approve the proposal to revise Fines and Fees Policy to Eliminate Fines for Overdue Library Materials and to eliminate fees for Collection Agency Referrals.

Motion: Perlman; Second: Lautenschlager; Vote: Unanimous

Library Director's Report:

- Budget Outlook
- Director will do orientations with new trustees

Trustee Reports and Comments:

There were none.

Motion to move to enter closed session: Motion: Perlman; Second: Bracken; Vote: Unanimous – closed session entered at 5:29 PM

After reports, consideration and recommendation regarding to Library Director Performance Evaluation, **Motion** was made to enter into open session.

Motion: Bracken; Second: Perlman; Vote: Unanimous – Open session entered at 5:41 PM.

Motion to accept the Director Compensation Committee's recommendation of 3.5% salary increase for the Library Director retroactive to January 1, 2020.

Motion: Perlman; Second; Bracken; Vote: Unanimous

Motion to adjourn the Regular Meeting at 5:46 PM.

Motion: Perlman; Second: Bracken; Vote: Unanimous.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeff Gilderson-Duwe, Secretary

Tracie Schlaak - Recorder